Field Recordings

The pain of loss. Grieving widows. Cheerless military cemeteries. The general distress and upheaval after the Great War. On stage we see transparent sculptures, in which soil appears to be floating: a military cemetery in a cold landscape. Sound rises from the earth: rustling, murmuring… echoes of battle, but also voices and snatches of music. As the performers move through this installation, the sounds retreat. Wherever humans go, the music hushes to a murmur.

Annelies Van Parys: concept & composition
Anneleen De Causmaecker: concept & installation
Vincent Caers: percussion & performance
Andy Dhondt: saxophone & performance
Els Mondelaers: soprano & performance
Isabelle Balsa: dance & performance
Roel Das: sound engineer
Peter Verhelst: text
Eva Küpper: video